He is with you

Last Sunday, as I was sitting in church, I was praying the Lord’s Prayer and began to think about it.  When I was young, my youth minister tried to get us through a prayer line by line, examining the significance of every word.  Since then, I find myself doing this pretty often while saying prayers.  Usually it is with the Hail Mary, but this week it was parts of the Our Father that were sticking out to me.  Recite this prayer carefully to let it’s powerful meaning sink in:

Our Father, Who art in Heaven

Hallowed be Thy Name;

Thy kingdom come,

Thy will be done,

On Earth as it is in Heaven.

Give us this day our daily bread

And forgive us our trespasses

As we forgive those who trespass against us

And lead us not into temptation

But deliver us from evil.  Amen.

It has been a pretty confusing time for me lately, and so I began to think about what we are really asking God for in this prayer.  The last line “…and lead us not into temptation but deliver us from evil” really struck me.  I have felt very strong temptations as of late and I recently had the experience of coming too close to the edge of temptation and evil. Just as I was nearing the edge, it was as though God’s hand reached out to pull me back to Him. I knew in my heart that I didn’t want to fight it and it filled me with relief and thankfulness that He was with me. Suddenly it became so clear that there is a much larger plan set in place for me.  I only need to wait patiently and assist it by being open, honest, and loving. This, of course, takes more than I’ve got, so it’s a good thing God is with me 🙂

While it may seem like you have hit an area of your life that is filled with negativity and difficulties, you need only to think of God and realize that He is with you.  It takes a simple prayer to get right back on the right track and I am so thankful for the events in my life that continuously bring me back to Him.  One thing that I’ve learned is that if you have faith and patience, God will work miracles through you.  He may lead you through a difficult part of life, but it is only because He knows that you can handle it—not on your own, but with Him.  He wants you to reach out at that point and run into His arms so that He can provide you with any assistance.  As the poem “Footprints in the Sand” concludes, the Lord said “my precious, precious child, I Love you and I would never leave you! During your times of trial and suffering when you see only one set of footprints, it was then that I carried you.”

Also, listen to Mandisa’s Stronger and really pay attention to the lyrics, she does a great job of communicating God’s true intentions when it comes to hardships and sufferings in life –> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=emgv-VRtMEU

(If you really like her, check out her webpage:  http://mandisaofficial.com/home/)

God Bless,  Zoey

About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

Posted on October 2, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

