#04 O Clement, O Loving

Everyone has been describing their Lenten sacrificing and rededications, and so now it is my turn.

I’ve decided to spend Lent reconnecting with a part of my faith that has been separate from me as of late. I’m renewing my devotion to The Blessed Mother.

I grew up in a household where Mary held a very special place, and I grew up knowing always, that I could turn to her. Even more than my own mother, who is amazing, by the way, I knew I could turn to Mary for guidance, intercession and a loving ear. My mother, grandmother and Aunts are all Devotees of The Virgin, and I try my best to live that way as well.

I used to pray the rosary quite frequently, but it’s something that’s slipped away from me with time.  So I have decided for Lent, I will be starting and ending my work week with a Rosary. I will pray one every Monday morning, and every Friday night.

This exercise for me is meant to strengthen a long neglected connection. Returning to Our Mother means a lot to me, and by welcoming her into my heart again, I hope to come closer to God. Mary sometimes gets the shaft in Lent, Advent being more “her time” in people’s mind, but I can’t help thinking about how she must have felt. She knew what was coming too. She’d always known. She watched her son suffer, and die. She cradled him in her arms.

I think about my mother, and the pain that she’s felt watching my siblings and me struggle and suffer, and I wonder how? How did Mary endure it? How did she choose it? It was such a deeply selfless thing to do, of course Christ’s sacrifice is the most important, but without her “Yes,” if she had been self preserving, where would we be? So that’s what I’m doing for Lent. I’m bringing Mary back into my life in a big way, to reopen a path to God that I’ve long ignored.

Hail Holy Queen, Mother of mercy
Hail, our life, our sweetness and our hope.

To thee do we cry, poor banished children of Eve
To thee do we send up our sighs
Mourning and weeping in this valley of tears
Turn then, most gracious advocate, thine eyes of mercy towards us.
And after this our exile, show unto us the blessed fruit of thy womb Jesus
Oh clement, oh loving, oh sweet virgin Mary.

About Reenie

This is where I go to espouse my crazy fangirl theories. I'm a geek with a love for most things fantasy, Sci Fi, and theatrical. I love me some superheroes.

Posted on February 25, 2012, in Lent. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Reenie,
    On Thursday after mass a group was saying a Rosary as I was reflecting and praying and I began to remember a time where I used to pray a Rosary every week. It’s such an important part of our faith and it comes back to me so easily, it is amazing how much you can miss something without realizing it! I think that is a wonderful way to begin and end the work week and look forward to hearing how it effects your week as we move forward through Lent!
    ❤ *Z*

Leave a Reply

