#05 Our Father

Right, I know you’re thinking “oh so original” #sarcasm but today’s Gospel was AWESOME because it was the Our Father.  Which, I mean, is one of the most awesome prayers out there (notice I didn’t say most…I don’t want to show favoritism…)!!  So I don’t know if anyone else does this, but I tend to like to say prayers really slowly, line by line, and just really let the meaning of each word sink in.  (Wait, I know what you’re all thinking… “she totally blogged about this already…” https://confidentlycatholic.wordpress.com/2011/10/02/he-is-with-you/)  Well, I promise, this is going to be different!  I just wanted to really examine the reasons for the Our Father.  Jesus told us “Your Father knows what you need before you ask Him.  This is how you are to pray…” and then goes into the Our Father we all know and love 🙂  But think about it, Jesus is telling us all we have to do is recite this one prayer and God will answer.  That means this is some powerful stuff!  I know, I know, you don’t need me to go on and on about it, but how can we not be so excited that all our answers lay in a prayer a lot of us have known since we were 6???  He is saying “you don’t have to say everything in a prayer, you don’t even have to think it because God already knows!  I can’t even count the nights I’ve fallen asleep trying to remember all the people I wanted to pray for and always thinking “I wish I prayed more”.  Now I’m not saying there’s no reason for other prayer, that would be silly, but I am thinking of praying an Our Father before bed each night and really know and understand that He fully hears the cry of my heart and all the prayers I might not even know I have.  Not to make little of it, but it really is the “busy person prayer”.  You’re talking directly to Him, know every word by heart, and don’t need to sit there thinking “okay, now I prayed for all my cousins, now which of my friends should I start with…”  As long as you pray, God hears you.  Jesus said that!  So it should be that easy; as long as you take every word into consideration when you say it, because Jesus did, and it has such a deep meaning.

So anyway, I suppose that brings up the importance of prayer and I really want to start praying more again.  Sorry if this post was a little all over the place, I get a little hyper late at night 🙂

God Bless!!

~*Zoey*

PS – the Gospel was from Matthew 6:7-15

About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

Posted on February 29, 2012, in Lent. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

