#10 The Little Things

While today is only half way over, I just feel so Blessed to have seen God in some many people and places already today!

At mass this morning our priest spoke about active participation.  This brought me back to one of my college Theology courses where we talked about what exactly that meant and entailed.  I find that active participation in the mass is a core component in what we get out of it.  You may have gone to mass and so know that the First Reading today was the Ten Commandments (Ex 20:1-17)).  Father spoke about keeping Holy the Sabbath by not only attending mass, but by participating actively and wholly as a congregation community. I mean, what is mass really if we don’t participate?  It’s Jesus’s presence being missed by those of us who can’t stop thinking about our day long enough to reflect on His Word and His Presence!  I tend to forget and I’m sure most of our minds wander at times during the homily, but let us not forget the real reason we are there, for if we keep our Father’s Commandments, He will Bless us always!

At the end of mass a member of our Church choir spoke about becoming closer to the Lord through song and how we should have the best choir in our diocese since St. Cecilia, (the saint of our parish) is the patron saint of music, and we should all praise His name in song while she intercedes for us!  He then invited us into the aisles and into the choir and up near the altar for the final Blessing and exit hymn.  This was such an amazing experience of community and was one of the first times I’ve ever felt the church community coming together in my parish.  I always felt that our general community was older, a lot older and those were the active participants at the mass, but this community was so diverse, it gave me hope for the living spirit within all of us to inspire a sense of community and make it a strong one!  It would be amazing to build up the parish community and with the ministry expo coming up, I think we are going to find an amazing gathering of His disciples of today 🙂

After mass I ran to the food store to buy cookies to bring to my cousin’s birthday party later on today.  As soon as I walked in, a high school girl approached me with a flier to donate to the local food pantry.  It was so inspiring to see them helping out in the community and participating in assisting others who are without.  Being as it’s also Lent and I’ve felt a strong urge to help others (as I really should all the time), I picked up some peanut butter since it was on the list and who doesn’t like peanut butter (other than LC and of course, those who are allergic like my God Daughter)?  I also wanted to encourage them to keep doing what they’re doing.  Those girls, whether they know it or not, are making such a difference in so many lives and I encourage all of us to do the same!

So these instances left me feeling so wonderful about the places and people God dwell’s in that I feel inspired to do more!  Let me know if you have any suggestions and I will take them to heart!!

God Bless,

*Zoey*

About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

Posted on March 11, 2012, in Lent. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

