#12 Wash Away

This morning I woke up to the sound of rain and I knew it was going to be a great day! While I suppose a lot of people may think I’m crazy, I absolutely LOVE the rain! (No wonder I chose our alma mater) I decided to wear my new dress since it is also in the 60’s (and who wants to wear pants in the rain?) which put me in an even better mood. By the time I left for church there was just a slight drizzle and by the time I made my way to work the rain had stopped, but it was enough to make everything look so much more beautiful!  Those of us who may not have happy feelings about rain may have better feelings about after the rain at least.  After it rains the colors are so much more vivid, the birds begin to chirp, there’s a smell of spring in the air, and of course, it helps the flowers bloom! If you think about it, we all need a little rain in our life to nourish us and allow us to sing and shine bright, and most of all, to grow!  Water is symbolic of renewal, of new life (like my namesake) and we should not ignore it! In Baptism we are cleansed of our Original Sin through water and when we renew our Baptismal promises, we are, yet again, sprinkled with water.  So why should rain be any different? Sure, it isn’t blessed Holy Water, but we can use every rainfall as a reminder of God’s presence and how easily He can renew our spirit and bring us closer to Him! So use this day as a new beginning for some aspect of your life; seize the opportunity to become renewed and let go of whatever is holding you down, standing in your way! Be free in Christ 🙂
God Bless,
*Zoey Nova*

About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

Posted on March 13, 2012, in Lent. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

