#18 Into the Fog

image

After the last week or so of beautiful weather and sunny days, we are thrown into this thick fog, left to wonder what happened to the beauty and wonder of a few days ago and whether we will see that again anytime soon.  Let me assure you, the sun will once again shine and return to us soon.  While the fog makes it difficult to navigate and sometimes even scares us because we can’t see, we can only have faith that it will subside.
Of course, you probably realize that I’m not only talking about the literal fog outside my window, but spiritual fog as well.  It’s been a beautiful Lent so far and I was soaring on a high that can only come from God when little by little everything began to become foggy.  As Cherie already pointed out, sin (such as pride) creeps up on us, as does fog.  I was feeling so good about myself and the place where I was at when suddenly, the fog rose up around me and I started to lose my footing.  I couldn’t see where I was going and it is at the times when we are most lost that we need Him.  Jesus fell three times on the way to His Crucifixion.  Through the haziness of this time of Lent, I’ve tripped and fallen at least twice, which makes me distinctly aware that there will be at least one more time.  It is all I can do to try and prevent a slip up or a fall that could damage me (and maybe others) more than I know.  All I can really do right now is pray that I resist temptation, but if Jesus fell three times, and He’s much stronger than me, I can only get through the rest of Lent with Him at my side, holding me up.
So if the fog has covered your path and you can no longer see the way, literally or spiritually, the best you can do is pray to Him, that He may guide you through the fog to a place where you can see clearly.
God Bless,
*Zoey*

About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

Posted on March 22, 2012, in Lent. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

