#19 God Works in Mysterious Ways

This afternoon I came home to my mom getting ready to go for a walk/jog.  She was waiting for my sister to get home and invited me to come too.  I wasn’t really feeling it and I had just bought some new stuff at the supermarket (hair stuff and the like) that I was putting away.  So my sister gets home and they’re all ready to go when I suddenly decide I want to go too (I know, I’m a little last minute and indecisive).  Mind you, I haven’t worked out in like a month (unless you count a few hours of baseball last weekend but since there was no running bases, I do not), so I guess that’s what motivated me to decide to go.  Well I just said go without me and I’ll see you out there (my dad said “she’ll catch up” but I denied that ever happening…).

So I headed out jogging and walking (surprising myself at how much I was jogging) towards the 55+ community a few developments down that has a footpath-ish.  I ran into my sister coming home before I even got to the development (typical) but I figured I’d go the opposite way we usually do so I would run into my mom and just come home with her.  Well that was my intent, but of course God had other plans.  I ended up running into a couple that goes to my church walking their dogs! I had actually been introduced to him this morning at mass and he looked at me and said my name “…right?”  It was so nice to see my new faith community outside of church and we had a conversation for a bit and I watched my mom walk by.  It’s so funny how things turn out and as cliche’ as it sounds, God really does work in mysterious ways!  I had been wanting a nice faith community and going to mass has brought me closer to other people in my church, even if we’ve never spoken.  This was only the second conversation I’ve had with him, and the first with her, but when you pray together daily, you already sort of feel like you know each other.  Also, I swear, if you’re looking for the nicest people around, a good place to start is daily mass. Everyone is SO friendly!!

Also, this is the second Friday in a row that I’ve seen someone from daily mass outside of church (which, who knows what would have happened if I’d been home the two Fridays before instead of out of state!)!!  It’s just these instances that we must realize that God is present all around us.

After mostly jogging the road between the developments, I started my cool-down as I entered my development and eventually slowed to a nice stroll where I reflected on all these things.  It was so lovely, and for someone who isn’t the first to go exercise, I think I may be going walk/jogging more often!

Well, I hope everyone’s Lent is going well!  Don’t forget, it’s Friday, so no meat!!  (I was too late for a friend that forgot so I thought I’d try and help out the rest of y’all!)  Also, send prayers my way for the Young Adult Ministry starting in my church, along with the Ministry Expo we’re having this weekend after all masses!!

God Bless,

*Zoey*

About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

Posted on March 23, 2012, in Lent. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

