#23 The Truth About Me

Just now I was about to start this post and I made a sudden movement and got a cramp in my foot that was way too painful but just as I opened my mouth to scream, all that came out was laughter…I’ve never had that experience before and it was strange, but I just kept laughing until the pain went away and I feel like it may have even helped…just throwing this out there, I absolutely hate pain and so the only way I could possibly laugh during it would be with God’s help…sometimes, He confuses me…but He definitely takes away the pain!

As some of you are well aware, I have had a recent obsession with the singer Mandisa (okay, still ongoing).  Well I bought her CD a few weeks back when I was in Ohio and at first didn’t put it on my phone right away because I was busy listening to all my Boyce Avenue to get pumped for their concert and then I just had other stuff to do…sort of silly busy schedule stuff really, but I finally put her CD on my phone and (since I have an office to myself almost every day) began to listen to the CD at work.  The CD title is What if we were real (another amazing song) and I recommend it to anyone and everyone because the messages in the songs are amazing!!  You may see a few more of her songs on here while I’m still on this kick (probably Monday…?) but for now, I really fell in love with this song and needed to share it!!

In The Truth About Me, Mandisa has a sort of conversation with God, struggling to see herself in His eyes, knowing that if she could appreciate herself, she would better appreciate the God who created her.  I know at least I struggle with this, but putting it to words is just awesome and this is very well done…okay I’ll let you read and then I will discuss further 🙂

If only I could see me as You see me

And understand the way that I am loved

Would it give a whole new meaning to my purpose?

Change the way I see the world?

Would I sparkle like a star in the night sky?

Would I give a little more instead of take?

If I understood I’m precious like a diamond

Of a worth no one could estimate

I’m a worth no one could estimate

You say lovely, I say broken

I say guilty, you say forgiven

I feel lonely

You say You’re with me

We both know

It would change everything

If only I believed

The truth about me

I wish I could hold on to the moments

When my life is spinning, but I’m peaceful still

Like a wind, You whisper into the silence

And tell me things this world never will

You tell me things this world never will

You say lovely, I say broken

I say guilty, you say forgiven

I feel lonely

You say You’re with me

We both know

It would change everything

If only I believed

The truth about me

I would sleep better at night

Wake up with hope for another day

I would love even if it cost me

Take a chance, and know I’m gonna be ok

I would dare to give my life away

OOOOOOO

I feel lonely

You say You’re with me

We both know

It would change everything

If only I believed

If only I believed

The truth about me

The whole song focuses around what life would be like if we could see ourselves as God sees us.  Everything we would do differently, what it might be like…but it also reveals something about God’s nature to come to us in the silence.  Just when we think we are farthest from an answer, He comes to us and “whispers into the silence”, telling us things “this world never will”.  Gosh that just really made me realize how much we depend on each other for what we should depend on God for!  But it also says to me, no matter what anyone else says or thinks, following God’s will is so much more important!  We could sit around forever waiting for someone to tell us what to do, but God already knows what we will do, what we should do!  He prompts us to continue His will, and sometimes we don’t hear, others we ignore it, but as a fellow blogger pointed out a few days ago (http://faithfullyflawed.com/2012/03/27/but-i-dont-wanna/), we can’t continue to avoid His will, eventually, for whatever reason, we will bend to it.  He has His reasons, we need to trust Him.

Plenty of people have trouble with trusting, but trusting God should be easy.  Should.

Now for my absolute FAVORITE part:

You say lovely, I say broken

I say guilty, you say forgiven

There!  There it is!  A simple conversation with God and all is revealed, He truly loves us by forgiving us and making us whole!  In fact, we are already whole in His eyes!  Man, I just can’t get over this line, I just kept singing it over and over again today because sometimes we feel so broken, but God only sees us as “lovely” because how can we be anything but when we are created by Him?  Also, the simple line of confessing our guilt and being forgiven is classic Reconciliation.  So maybe this line stands out so much because it’s Lent and that sacrament is so present, but it is just so amazing and refreshing to know that we can be totally forgiven of our sins because God loves us so much.  The rest of the chorus is great too:

I feel lonely

You say You’re with me

We both know

It would change everything

If only I believed

The truth about me

It is so comforting to know that God is with us especially at times when we feel so alone.  The last line is particularly frustrating to me because how can I know the truth about me?  How can I know who I am in God’s eyes and what is my truth?  I can’t fathom it, but maybe, one day, I will be able to see…maybe.

God Bless,

*Zoey*

About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

Posted on March 29, 2012, in Lent, meaningful music. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

