#32 Update on Body Image

I hope this isn’t too much for all y’all but I saw this on facebook and absolutely needed to comment on it:

I censored the writing but you can probably guess what it said...

I censored the writing but you can probably guess what it said...

Someone I’m friends with on facebook had liked or shared it or whatever and it came up on my newsfeed.  So here it is, the major issue with modern society, as I see this photo saying, is that skimpy bikinis and girls that are skin and bones are projected as beautiful, but in all actuality, others want to see us as ourselves.  I see an arrow telling me that covering more of myself is not less beautiful, in fact, it’s more attractive.

So maybe I’m tired and don’t really know where this is leading but I wanted to highlight my earlier point and say that we need to me more modest! (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C6-55Tgurvw “Modest is hottest!”)

Well, the amount of likes this photo got on facebook made me realize that we aren’t the only ones who think looking how we are and dressing modestly should be done, even if they don’t realize it, they’re making our point.  So let’s fight on for modesty!  Woo!

God Bless,

*Zoey*

PS sorry  I was all over the place, it’s late…

Edit: I should clarify that this photo also highlights the problems with society telling us how to look and what size we should wear and I in no way agree with that. Ladies (and Gents to, really), you are gorgeous whatever shape or size you are and however God made you, you are perfect! Wow, sorry for that oversight and thanks for pointing it out to me!!

About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

Posted on April 4, 2012, in Lent. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hey I just found this blog and I think it’s great! I totally agree that we need to be more modest, but unfortunately I don’t think that’s what this picture is getting at. I’m pretty sure it’s referring to the women’s body types, not their clothing – saying that curvy women are more beautiful than those that are skin and bones. If this is the case, then I think it’s a problem thinking any body type is more beautiful/attractive than another. Just my two cents!

    • Yes, thank you for the feedback! Sorry, I do realize what the picture was getting at, but in an earlier post I also commented that many of us feel the pressure to be skinnier, etc and it is important to note that any body type is beautiful. The picture didn’t EXACTLY illustrate my point and I do hope that it didn’t sound like I think skinnier is a bad thing, I was just presenting the photo and discussing my thoughts…I suppose all images can be highly influential in many ways, I don’t mean to offend anyone 😦
      PS you are beautiful!
      ❤ *z*

      • Also, thanks for pointing out that I failed to mention that…I do need to add something in, whoops!

Leave a Reply

