Day of Service

Hi everyone!  Sorry it’s been a while, still no final Lent post, it’s too long…I don’t want to bore you to death.  I sat at a picnic table yesterday.  But that’s not what I’m going to blog about…

So today was our Alma Mater’s Day of Service and I decided to volunteer locally with some fellow alumni in painting a teacher’s lounge at a high school.  It was a truly wonderful experience.  Although we will not get to see the looks on the teachers’ faces when they walk in Monday morning, I think it’s pretty safe to say that this was a success!  We painted for probably 3 1/2 hours if you factor in the lunch break (yay pizza!), and there was just such a transformation that I think it shocked even us!  Volunteering got me thinking again about how much I love doing service and helping others.  I am really looking forward to becoming more involved with different projects, especially with our Young Adult Ministry basically being up and running.  While painting, I was reminded of a service week I did right before my freshmen year of college and it reminded me of how much I need service in my life and how simple a form it can take.  For instance, how could I forget that painting, something that I love and enjoy, could be used in a service sense?  We try to do good works by doing many different things, but I always forget that the easiest way to serve others is to use our pre-existing God-given talents to tailor the type of service to fit us.  Now I’m not saying don’t do certain types of service, I’m saying find what you enjoy and do it more!  I think I am going to try that when I can 🙂

I love seizing opportunities and even though my two friends couldn’t make it, I had a most enjoyable time!!

Another reason I loved taking part in this Day of Service is because even if there were only ten of us there, we were all a part of something so much larger.  Fellow alum all over are volunteering and serving others today in different places, but at the same time.  It makes me so proud to be a part of our alma mater and gives us a feeling that we can always be a part of what’s going on, even from this far off campus!  AMDG!!

God Bless,

*Zoey*

About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

Posted on April 14, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

