Through The Eyes of A Child

One of the things that I’m doing this summer is helping a family that has decided to come back to the Church. They have two children, a daughter, who I will be tutoring so that she can catch up and receive her first communion in the coming spring. We had our first lesson today, and I explained the Trinity to her.

It’s always been difficult for me to understand people who don’t just intrinsically know the faith because it has always been such a deep part of who I am. But I sat with this little girl for an hour, taught her the sign of the cross, explained Jesus’s birth, death and resurrection, and then walked her line by line through the Lord’s Prayer, I became incredibly grateful for my parents, for making sure that my faith was such a part of my day to day life. I take it so for granted.

After our session I spoke with her mother briefly. This woman was unfailingly kind and told me outright that my mother and my interest in her children was, “the greatest blessing she could ask for.” See, she’s an ex-patriated Cuban, who left the Church behind when she came to America, however, recently, she was sitting at her sick father’s bedside and was given by one of the nurses a copy of The Prayer of Divine Mercy. She prayed it for hours on end, and her father is now on the mend. This experience led her back to the Church and made her want to educate her children.

My little pupil is adorable and I am so excited to be a part of her faith experience! Wish me luck!

About Reenie

This is where I go to espouse my crazy fangirl theories. I'm a geek with a love for most things fantasy, Sci Fi, and theatrical. I love me some superheroes.

Posted on May 25, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Sounds like there will be many Blessings to come on both ends 🙂 Can’t wait to hear more about it!!
    – z

Leave a Reply

