Angels of the Streets

Today we volunteered at Covenant House which basically takes in homeless 18-21 year olds and helps them to learn to live independently by getting employment and saving their money, etc.  It was so amazing and they help so many people that it was truly inspiring.  Our project for the day (aside from making 106 bag lunches to be delivered to people on the streets) was to clean out a closet that is full of donated clothes that the young adults could wear for interviews and jobs.  The closet was a huge mess and we needed to not only sort through, organize, and hang/fold it, but also weed out the clothes that looked unprofessional and that we would never wear to an interview.  I don’t think I ever would have expected to use my experiences from both of my part time jobs in one task ever, but that was exactly how this felt.  Working in HR, I know what is and is not appropriate to wear on a job interview.  At the same time, my retail experience in women’s clothing gives me good background in folding, which I did a whole lot of today.  It was so awesome and even though we didn’t get to work directly with the youth, we maintained these closets and brought them to a level of cleanliness that they could potentially incur more dignity from rather than sifting through a pile of rumpled shirts.
My picture from today is an angel, sort of a guardian angel inspired by the workers of Covenant House and how they look after these young people and help them to get on and stay on the right path.  Also, Covenant House was started by a Catholic priest so it has a faith based mission and identity.

image

God Bless, *JuLi*

About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

Posted on June 26, 2012, in Gospel Roads. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

