Hail Mary…

Today was great. We visited New Community and stayed at the Adult Extended Care center to get to know some residents.  I was part of the group that went to the Alzheimer’s and Dementia floor and interacted with a woman who we will call “Ms. H”.  Ms. H went blind and was in the beginning stages of dementia.  She liked to talk though so I sat with her for quite a bit.  Some of what she said didn’t make much sense but we talked about animals and her family.  All the residents in the room were in wheel chairs though and if they stood up, it caused a buzzer to go off.  Well Ms. H stood up quite a few times and every time the workers would holler at her to sit down.  Well, about half way through my time with her, Ms. H leans over to me and said, “when I stand up they’re going to yell at me ‘H!’ ” and right after she said that she proceeded to stand up and the staff yelled “Ms. H! Sit down!” It was probably the highlight of my time there and made a bunch of my new friends laugh as well.  She is clearly functioning highly enough that she knew exactly what she was doing.
Anyway, when it got dark we did a candle light Rosary.  It wasn’t the walking Rosary that we did in the Students for Life group in undergrad where everyone got a candle and we prayed, it was different, but just as awesome.  The candles were layed out, sort of Search Agape at our sister school like, but in a Rosary instead of a cross and we lit them as we said the Rosary.  I absolutely love the Rosary and was looking forward to it since they told me about it the night before.  Although, I didn’t expect the candles, they made the experience so much more awesome.  That is why my picture tonight is Rosary themed.

image

Hail Mary,
Full of grace,
The Lord is with thee.
Blessed art thou amongst women
And Blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus.
Holy Mary,
Mother of God,
Pray for us sinners
Now and at the hour of our death
Amen

God Bless, *JuLi*

About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

Posted on June 27, 2012, in Gospel Roads. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

