True Friendship

I really can’t even begin to describe my experiences today.  It started out with toddlers and infants showing me God’s love in the ways of a child and just being all around amazing loving children.  After lunch we painted an apartment.  I was with two males from the group and we had such a good experience and true teamwork going on.  It was so calming and soothing for me to be painting (and singing) and getting to know the people I was working with.  After mass and dinner though, I had an emotional breakdown.
Lately I’ve been struggling to discern where God is calling me to and today things began to build up in me and I was able to talk to one person in particular and build on a connection that had already been forming over the week.  The person has been there for me to lean on and I was somehow able to open up today when I wasn’t sure I could.  Our friendship has now grown and I am so grateful for that individual for letting me fall a little bit and ALWAYS saying what I need to hear, whether it be in private, large group, etc.  I also opened up a bit to two other people that I trusted who joined us a little later.
We then distributed sandwiches to the homeless around Penn Station Newark which was an amazing experience as well.  We split into two groups and really feel like there was an impact made.  I was so touched that we were able to hopefully touch these people and large group sharing allowed me to open up and just spit out some inspiring things (all God working through me of course) that I can’t begin to remember now.  One thing I would like though, is for anyone who is willing, to offer up a Hail Mary for the homeless and hungry that they may be comforted and watched over by our Lord and mother Mary tonight and every night.
My picture today depicts the friends reaching out for me, acting as Christ and loving me truly for who I am.  We all have our struggles and this is for those who pick us up when we’re feeling down.

image

God Bless,
*JuLi*

About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

Posted on June 29, 2012, in Gospel Roads. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

