Quick Change of Plans…

I’m sitting on the hood of my car outside a Firestone shop at the moment, finally writing a new post, waiting for my dad to pick us up. My mom is leaning on the hood of her car, making business calls. Why are we waiting for a third family member to bring a third car here? Because my mom’s car, the one we’re supposed to be picking up, won’t start. We were also dropping off my car for an oil change. It would start just fine, except that I already dropped my keys in the night deposit box. So here we sit until our night in shining Honda arrives. Isn’t that the way life goes?

I’ve had a lot of those “quick change of plans” moments lately. In June, I started a job in Philadelphia  teaching science at an alternative-to-juvy shelter. As I finished my first day of training, I got a call from an out-of-state charter school I’d interviewed with the week prior. I didn’t go back for the second day of training (I did call them and explain, though). In the month since, I found an apartment, interviewed for a summer job, took the math teaching test, and spent three weeks as an RA supervising a dozen adolescent girls in a college dorm. A wonderful summer, to be sure, but all very last-minute. I’ve got this week to prepare to officially move out of my parents’ house, next week to relax and catch up with the family on our annual Wildwood shore trip, and then I’m moving to start my new job near NYC. Somewhere in there, I’m turning 25. Luckily, there’s no time for me to have a quarter-life crisis (or was I supposed to do that at 20?).

Being very busy and the “qcop” phenomenon both have the tendency to disrupt my spiritual life when it’s going well. I’m sorry to say that I wasn’t praying or reflecting much before this madness started, so that wasn’t really a concern. Instead, the chaos has helped me see more clearly that my plans are meaningless without God. He knows what I need better than I do, He knows who I am better than I do, and He certainly knows what the future holds better than I do. I wasn’t trying to discern God’s path for me as all of this unfolded, but in God’s great mercy, His plan for us will always pick up from wherever we land in our wanderings. When the prodigal son realized his folly, God’s plan for him began right in the pig’s pen. As I start to ask for direction in the midst of this crazy summer, it calms my heart to know that He will find me here, that He has always known I would end up right in this moment and seeks my love and trust now as much as ever. I have to keep faith; the world around us is ever-changing, but the love of God endures.
I have a feeling I’ll be writing often about change, saying goodbye, and bringing God with us into new chapters of our lives in the coming weeks. Some of the chaos is resolved for now, and I’m at peace with the fact that some things can’t really be planned, but there is a potential problem with my roommate’s ability to rent with me that’s really worrying me. If you could say a prayer that we end up in the lovely, safe apartment we picked out or that God’s will be done, I really appreciate it. Hope you’re all having a great summer!

Pace e Bene,
Cherie

About Cherie

I graduated from our alma mater once in 2009 and will be graduating again with a master’s this winter. I’ve worked my way through more majors than I care to explain, but my two biggest academic passions are education and science. I’ll probably post about each on occasion, though I’m hoping to focus on the spiritual side of things. I grew up rooted in the Catholic beliefs and traditions of an old-fashioned, over-sized Italian family, and came into my own understanding of God through charismatic prayer in my teens. I’m not as confidently Catholic lately as I used to be, so this blog will reflect my struggles and (God willing) successes in searching for a deeper, more adult understanding of my lifelong Faith.

Posted on July 18, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Praying for you, as always, and hoping things are running smoothly in the direction God has set for you! I know exactly what you mean about having sudden changes in plans and I know that God is really working in our lives through all the chaos. I’m also hoping we get to catch up soon, it’s been way too long and I’m starting to realize that there are certain people I need in my life and you are definitely one of them 🙂 Love you! *JuLi*

    • Thanks, Juli! I’ll be busy, but at lady we’ll be closer to each other so I’m sure we can catch up soon!

      And for the record, my roommate’s problem was resolve and all systems are go on the lovely apartment! Thanks to everyone who sent a payer our way 🙂

Leave a Reply

