Challenges and God’s Plan

A year ago today, one of my closest college friends got married (Happy anniversary to the two of them!). That night, while hanging out with some other college friends, I accepted a challenge. You see, I had broken up with my boyfriend fairly recently and was used to having a boy in my life. I hadn’t really been single for more than 2 months at a time since I started college (so 5 years) and I hadn’t really been single a full year since I was probably 16. A friend challenged me to go a whole year being single. Well, guess what? I succeeded, and to my own amazement, I even grew quite a bit. Aside from getting to know myself better and becoming more independent, I also got to know God better.  In the past year, I’ll admit, I made some mistakes. I went on a few dates, but not having a constant boy in my life left me the time I needed to spend with the most important guy in my life–Jesus Christ.  While my friends began getting engaged and married, I started praying for my future husband and trying to discern my true vocation. I also realized that God’s plan is way more important than my own and He could take me where I never dreamed I’d end up! I’ve also learned that God’s got a great sense of humor and it turns out that when you pray for something enough, you may get more than you bargained for. God is making me make difficult decisions now, even though I understand that the choices I make will ultimately be the ones He knows I am going to make. I realized today that it is finally time for me to make my decisions and see where they may take me. I only ask that God stay with me throughout this process.  Much has happened in the past year, and I need to constantly remind myself that God is at work in my life big time and I cannot sacrifice our relationship for anyone–especially not a boy.  This year we have started this blog, I made adjustments in my life to make it single-Catholic friendly, I began attending daily mass, we started a young adult ministry at my parish, I began lectoring at mass, I went on Gospel Roads, I was asked to teach religious education, and I am ultimately feeling so much better about my relationship with Christ.  He has been there for me at every turn and picked me up as I’ve fallen down.  I know I could not have done this without Him.  So even though I set out a year ago to just live a single life, I was able to also fix and grow my relationship with God which, in turn, led me to cultivate existing relationships with my family and some friends. In essence, I wouldn’t trade any of this for meeting my one true love any earlier. So thank you to God, to my family, to my friends, and to our readers for showing me the support andI sending the prayers I needed in this past year. There is nowhere to go from here but forward and I intend to do so by “going forth and setting the world on fire”! I love you, God Bless!
Juli

About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

Posted on August 20, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

