Prayer

I was at church this morning and during Exposition of the Blessed Sacrament after Mass I somehow started praying and sort of whining to God about something in my life that I was pretty conflicted about…well, still am conflicted about, but that’s not the point.  After I looked up and then at my watch, a man came over and asked if I was okay.  I responded “I’m fine” a little too loud for Exposition and he probably knew I was lying (especially since I’m sure I had appeared to be crying, even though there were no tears).  I felt a bit guilty after that, especially since he was just being nice.  He held out a bag of Rosaries (Rosary’s?) and told me to choose one, that they had already been blessed.  I was confused, but it seemed that he had been giving them out to everyone that was there.  Then he told me he’d pray for me and asked me to pray for him.  I said ‘yes’ and asked his name.  His name is Ray (I think, I may have heard wrong, but I did repeat it and introduce myself as well).  The Rosary beads he was handing out had information on the back of the cardboard they were attached to about missionaries in Africa and I realized that my problems were so much smaller than others out there.  I started to think about how insignificant what I had been praying about was and maybe that was God’s answer to me…that I needed to stop dwelling on things we can’t change and worry about the things we can.  I left for work after that (and clocked in at exactly 9:00) but I held on to the Rosary all day, thinking about how blessed I really am and how I need to move forward and be happy with my life which is actually really good right now.  I hope this little story might have helped someone else, but I’m mostly glad that it helped me and showed me that God is truly among us.  So pray for me, and pray for Ray, and I’ll pray for all of you.

Love you and God Bless,

Juli

About Juli

I received my B.S. in Counseling and Human Services and a minor in Theology and Religious Studies and my M.A. in Organizational Leadership in Higher Education. Through a strange twist of fate, I ended up in the Human Resources field and at a company that I really love. I'm not much of a writer because I tend to write how I talk and when I tell stories I tend to ramble and tell way too many details. I love writing though because it's fun to get all my thoughts down. I also love drawing, I love photos, and anything artistic really.

Posted on September 14, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

